Exploring the Multiverse: A Review of Dennis Taylor’s The Bobiverse Series

Exploring the Multiverse: A Review of Dennis Taylor’s The Bobiverse Series

This blog post contains affiliate links, meaning I receive a commission from purchases made through those links. I will only recommend products I have personally used! Thanks for your support!

A Review of Dennis Taylor’s The Bobiverse Series

Entering the world of science fiction can feel like setting off on an adventure into the unknown. As one can see from skimming my Rob’s Reading List post, I’ve not read a lot of fiction (virtually none), so diving into Dennis E. Taylor’s “The Bobiverse” series was a big leap. I’d only read one other fiction book in my adult life, Lee Child’s “Killing Floor,” and it didn’t really click with me. But then came the Bobiverse, and it changed everything. Despite my previous hesitation to spend time reading fiction, these books grabbed my attention and showed me how imaginative storytelling can be. Below you will find a summary of each book and my opinion on the series as a whole.

Book One: We Are Legion (We Are Bob)

The journey begins with “We Are Legion (We Are Bob),” introducing us to Bob Johansson, a tech genius turned digital consciousness who finds himself thrust into the role of a von Neumann probe, tasked with exploring the universe. Through Bob’s eyes, we witness the wonders of space exploration, the perils of artificial intelligence, and the complexities of identity in a post-human existence.

We Are Legion (We Are Bob) We Are Legion (We Are...
Bob Johansson has just sold his software company and is looking forward to a life...
Science Fiction Dennis E. Taylor

Book Two: For We Are Many

In “For We Are Many,” the Bobiverse expands as more iterations of Bob are created, each with his own quirks and personalities. As Bob grapples with the challenges of managing his growing “family” and navigating interstellar politics, Taylor delves deeper into questions of autonomy, morality, and the nature of consciousness.

For We Are Many For We Are Many
Bob Johansson didn't believe in an afterlife, so waking up after being killed in a...
Science Fiction Dennis E. Taylor

Book Three: All These Worlds

As the saga continues in “All These Worlds,” tensions rise as the Bobs find themselves embroiled in a conflict with a hostile alien race. With stakes higher than ever, Bob and his counterparts must confront their own limitations and confront the ethical dilemmas of wielding power in a universe teeming with life.

All These Worlds All These Worlds
Being a sentient spaceship really should be more fun. But after spreading out through space...
Science Fiction Dennis E. Taylor

Book Four: Heaven’s River

The epic conclusion arrives in “Heaven’s River,” as Bob’s journey takes an unexpected turn that leads him to confront ancient mysteries and the ultimate questions of existence. With the fate of humanity hanging in the balance, Bob must draw upon all his ingenuity and resilience to chart a course toward the unknown.

Heaven’s River Heaven’s River
Civil war looms in the Bobiverse in this brand-new, epic-length adventure by best seller Dennis...
Science Fiction Dennis E. Taylor

Overall Experience with The Bobiverse

Navigating through the four books of “The Bobiverse” series is a thrilling experience from start to finish. Taylor’s writing is saturated with a sense of wonder and humor that makes even the most complex scientific concepts accessible to readers of all backgrounds. While the proliferation of Bobs may occasionally lead to some confusion, the richness of the characters and the depth of the world-building more than compensate for any minor hiccups along the way.

A note for other Bobiverse fans! I just saw on Dennis Taylor’s website that the release date for book 5 (Not Till We Are Lost) is set for Sept 5, 2024!


For newcomers to the world of science fiction, “The Bobiverse” series is a perfect entry point, offering a captivating blend of adventure, exploration, and philosophical inquiry. With its engaging narrative and thought-provoking themes, this series will leave readers eagerly anticipating their next journey into the vast expanse of the unknown. Moreover, the audiobook experience (only available on Audible), narrated by the talented Ray Porter, adds an extra dimension to the story. Porter’s masterful narration brings each character to life, giving them a depth and personality that enhances the overall immersion. Any book read by Ray is not just an audiobook; it’s an experience, a delight for the ears and the imagination. So strap in, fire up your imagination, and prepare to embark on an unforgettable voyage through the multiverse with Bob and his legion of clones, guided by the skillful voice of Ray Porter.

2 thoughts on “Exploring the Multiverse: A Review of Dennis Taylor’s The Bobiverse Series”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top